The cold grasp of winter is losing its grip and being overpowered by the warm embrace of spring. My yard has transformed from brown to green, and the eery stillness has morphed into buzzing insects and the smell of freshly-cut grass. Evenings spent near the fireplace have become sunny outings in the garden planting veggies and pulling weeds. Spring is a favorite time of year for many reasons, one of which is gardening.

One of the many required tasks to help a garden thrive is pruning. I recently grabbed the shears and went through the row of onions cutting the newly developed seed pods on the top of the plants. Then, I went to each tomato plant and cut off side shoots and “suckers.” If I don’t prune these unnecessary growths, they will take nutrients and energy that would otherwise go to developing bigger fruit and healthier plants. While cutting off parts of the plant may look like I’m destroying it, I’m actually working towards its health and improving its ability to thrive. I know precisely which parts to cut off.

The Master Gardener

Read more at: http://growingingrace.blog/2019/05/13/pruned-by-the-master-gardener/