The Broken Hallelujah

You’ve likely heard the song, “Hallelujah.” Most people love the dramatic, mesmerizing melody. Leonard Cohen released the song in 1984 and since then it has been performed by a “who’s who” of artists and featured in scores of movies, TV shows and music videos.

If you don’t know it (or even if you do) take a moment and listen to this amazing performance by Pentatonix: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LRP8d7hhpoQ

The song always moves me to tears, but I could never figure out the lyrics, so I ignored them and just enjoyed the powerful melody. When I watched this Pentatonix rendition, I had to figure out what Cohen was saying in his choice of such cryptic language. I read through all the verses (fifteen in all, only about eight of which every get performed) and I read various stories and interpretations of their meaning. It reminded me of my generation trying to figure out what Don McLean’s ‘American Pie’ was all about, positing everything from the death of Buddy Holly to the second coming of Christ.

The brilliance of the lyrics of ‘Hallelujah’ is their openness and even invitation to a myriad of interpretations. Some see only an ode to sex, others a deeply religious struggle. Cohen said the song represented absolute surrender in a situation you cannot fix or dominate. Rabbi Ruth Gan Kagan affectionately called it a ‘hymn of the heretic’.

When I considered the meaning behind the lyrics, I found something that spoke to my soul. I believe there is a powerful message for us as we enter 2018. While it’s clearly not a Christian song, it is a profoundly honest song. I chose six of the verses that spoke to me the most. I admit to reading my own interpretation into them, but here is the message I found.

Read more at: http://thestewardsjourney.com/the-broken-hallelujah/

Leave a comment