Being Gospel-centered is a Bloody Mess

from Mike Leake at Borrowed Light – LEAVE A COMMENT


I still remember my white-knuckled pew grabbing. When I really wanted to go forward at service and give my life to Christ. Maybe it was a rededication—maybe it was coming to Christ for the first time. I don’t know, but I know that at that time the gospel seemed so beautiful. But I was counting the cost and it seemed so huge.

During that time in my life I wrote this rather choppy line:

Standing on holy ground
With one shoe
Caught between a life of me
And one devoted to you

I deeply wanted to listen and follow the voice calling from the burning bush but I wanted to at least keep a shoe on. Then grace caught up with me and either took my shoes off completely or just threw me into the burning bush to be consumed, accepted, loved, and cleansed. I was forever changed and smitten with the gospel.

Over time my understanding of the gospel and the work of the Lord grew exponentially. I was swept up in all of the language of being gospel-centered and pursued being a gospel-centered pastor. I still am to this day.

But somewhere along the way I forgot something…

The rest is at http://www.mikeleake.net/2014/07/being-gospel-centered-is-a-bloody-mess.html

Leave a comment