If God feels distant, maybe our hearts need cleansing

"There is no way of seeing God until our heart is renewed by sovereign Grace."

Do you want to know God? You may have been a Christian for years, but you may feel that you don’t experience or KNOW God. Do you feel distant from God sometimes? I definitely do. In fact I am currently gradually finding my way back from a period where God felt a million miles away.

This is not how God intends us to live as Christians.

If you seek him, it IS possible to find God and experience him. There is a way back to him.

Many of us today have become alienated from the experience that Paul spoke of when he said

I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith— that I may know him and the power of his resurrection (Philipians 3:8-10)

Those verses have regularly challenged me over the years. Paul is not talking here about pie in the sky when we die. Rather, he is talking about cake on our plate while we wait. Do I really know Jesus here and now?

Continue: http://www.patheos.com/blogs/adrianwarnock/2017/03/clean-heart-know-god/

Leave a Reply

