The Prison of Perfectionism

“There is therefore now no condemnation to them that are in Christ Jesus. For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has liberated me from the law of sin and of death.”1

A Daily Encounter reader writes, “As a Christian I try to flee from sin because I don’t want to displease God and I don’t want to suffer the consequences. However, I am repeatedly reminded that I am not perfect and that I cannot live up to God’s standards. So I am constantly frustrated because on one hand, I’m told that I should resist sin, and on the other hand, I’m told that I will always sin . . . Ahhhhh! Then it is inevitable that I will suffer consequences for my sins no matter how I try to resist them, right?

More at: http://www.actsweb.org/daily.php?id=473

Leave a Reply

