A prayer and praise of the Holy Spirit

For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit set their minds on the things of the spirit. To set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind of the Spirit is life and peace. For the mind that is set on the flesh is hostile to God, for it does not submit to God’s law; indeed, it cannot. Those who are in the flesh cannot please God. You, however, are not in the flesh but in the spirit, anyone who does not have the Spirit of Christ does not belong to him. Romans 8.5–9

Heavenly father, I am particular grateful today for the person at work of the Holy Spirit. Though I don’t understand stand everything he is up to, these things I gladly affirmed today…

Just as assuredly as Jesus stood up outside of Lazarus’s Truman said, “Come forth”, you sent the Holy Spirit to preach the gospel to my heart, and I came out of the tomb of my sin and death. How I praise you for your sovereign goodness and power. Unless you had breathe new life into my spirit, I would have never, could have never believe the gospel.

When you raise me up in Jesus, you baptize me with the Holy Spirit, making me a member of your family in Christ’s bride. You sealed me for eternity by the Spirit, marking me as your own possession. You sent the Spirit to live as a permanent resident in my heart—to constantly preach the gospel to my heart, convict me up soon, make me like Jesus, and tell me that I am your beloved child.

According to the truth of the Gospel in your Word, I am all ready controlled by the Holy Spirit. I am no longer controlled by my sinful nature. You have given me all the gifts of the Spirit I need to live as a functioning part of the church and a caring service in your kingdom. You gave the Spirit to me as the first fruits and guaranteed other full inheritance salvation that Jesus completely earned for me. What a generous and loving God you are!

Therefore, I acknowledge my desire to be more fully and consistently filled with the Holy Spirit, to walk according to the Spirit, to keep in step with the Spirit, to set my mind on what the Spirit desires. All of two which I say, “Hallelujah, what a Savior! Hallelujah, what a salvation!” I pray in Jesus name. Amen

~ Scotty Smith

One Response

  1. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    A CONCEPT OF PRAISING OUR LORD AND SAVIOR SHOULD BE SECOND NATURE TO US!

Leave a Reply

